+1 Editorial board

I wanted to write a little bit about why I’m so pleased to have joined the Editorial Board and to introduce myself. I am currently a Research Fellow at the Centre for International Research on Education Systems at Victoria University in Melbourne, Australia and act as a Research Advisor for the Career Industry Council of Australia [CICA], Australia’s peak industry body for career development.

Picture of Lizzie Knight outside in Australia in front of large sculpture of a ram - the Big Merino in Goulburn, Australia (pre-COVID lockdowns)
Lizzie Knight

I have practiced as a careers counsellor for the last 10 years and I’m a registered with CICA Certified Leading Professional Career Practitioner, in tertiary vocational and higher education settings and was the subject matter expert on myfuture.edu.au which has been since 2002 Australia’s National Career Information Service. In the five years I worked on the myfuture platform I was able to visit most states and territories of Australia and supported career practitioner and school staff using the tools – it was a fascinating experience which deepened my knowledge of career practice.

In 2017 I completed doctoral research looking at changes in higher education promotional material reflects my core research interest, career information and I’m shortly to write more about that on this site referencing a part of my PhD. At the moment, I’m working on higher vocational education policy and practice, including apprenticeships and traineeships.

I have a particular and long lasting interest in equity and widening access, including supporting students with disabilities (probably arising from my personal experience of life with joint hypermobility and associated difficulties). Currently I’m undertaking research about career information of out of home care experienced young people, how private providers of TVET exclude diverse cohorts of students and tertiary choice for rural and regional students in Australia.

I’m looking forward to sharing on the Career Guidance and Social Justice site as new projects are published or I start new projects. Get in contact with me on LinkedIn if you’re interested in any of my research – you can see it on my ResearchGate profile.

One comment

Leave a comment